Home > Business for Kids, Economics > Kid Sells Bracelets to Keep Families out of Prostitution

Kid Sells Bracelets to Keep Families out of Prostitution


Where ever I go and tell people what I do, I find someone who knows an entrepreneurial kid. I love to hear these stories. And it happens more often than you’d think. I was in Vegas last week and met a man Kyle whose 9-year-old daughter Raegan is learning all about sales and the basics of economics, and in a really cool way.

She sells bracelets, but not just any bracelet. Her bracelets are made by Filipino families and she

Bracelets from Threads of Hope

Bracelets from Threads of Hope

sends her profits back overseas to those families. The revenue goes a long way in the Philippines and is transforming lives by helping them stay out of prostitution.

Read more about Raegan and the organization that set up the exchange, Threads of Hope, on this blog.

Meanwhile, DO YOU KNOW an entrepreneurial kid?

  1. September 2, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    I’m an artist and educator who backed into the reuse and recycle thing when I was teaching elementary art. My principal cut my budget from $1,000 to $250 per semester, so I resorted to using trash or solid waste as art materials. That wasn’t necessarily a bad thing, as it made me more resourceful and it stretched the kids’ imaginations, too.

    In 1996, I launched The Imagination Factory, a children’s Web site that shows visitors how to make art and crafts out of things most people throw away. Since then, millions of people have visited, looking for inexpensive art ideas or ways to encourage kids to reduce, reuse, and recycle. Some of the dozens of art activities featured include drawing, painting, sculpture, collage, paper mache, marbling, and crafts.

    I think teaching kids to reuse materials is a fun and entertaining way to foster environmental responsibility. I’m pleased to see that adults are starting to reuse and recycle, but I focus my attention on children, because they will more easily adopt these habits and incorporate them into their lifestyles. Kids are the ones who will make a difference in helping to save the environment. The Imagination Factory is located at http://www.kid-at-art.com/.

  2. September 2, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Thanks for sharing, Marilyn. The Imagination Factory sounds really cool and a great example of how you turned bad budget cut into a positive endeavor.

    Did you catch my other post “Losing Trash and Finding Gas with Innovative Green Kids”? In there I mention a few amazing kids that are thinking of innovative ways to conserve energy and get rid of trash.

  3. September 21, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Yes, I read about your Green Herbie Curbie invention and other great ideas for saving the environment. The neat thing about working with kids is they aren’t afraid of making mistakes. Since they aren’t tied to the “we’ve always done it this way” mentality and are willing to take risks, kids can more easily come up with solutions to problems. Maybe we should listen to them more often!

  4. March 18, 2009 at 3:04 am

    quote:”I was in Vegas last week and met a man Kyle whose 9-year-old daughter Raegan is learning all about sales and the basics of economics, and in a really cool way.She sells bracelets, but not just any bracelet.”

    I saw a Chinese movie “chuncao” before, the heroine had to sell things to support her family at 14-year-old.

  5. marge
    April 13, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    hey guys , im from the phils, im just interested about threads of hope, where can i locate or contact them

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

